Design

wedding DIY…what??

For those that know me well, you know I am full of ideas, but maybe not the best on the execution.  I love the idea of DIY projects, how creative they are, how much $$ you can save, etc…etc…etc.  But I am not the girl that is running to the paper and craft stores to get supplies and spending my limited personal time being, well…”crafty”.  Not that I don’t want to be, I have big aspirations to be crafty…they just don’t always work out so well.
So what better time than my wedding to find new places to shop, try some DIY projects and really see if I have any creativity…eek?!?
First up – I am really excited about one of my first purchases for the wedding – a ring bearer bowl from Palomas Nest on Etsy!  They are so amazingly cute, and I am having our’s personalized for our wedding, and then with a pale blue/aqua ribbon.   We will be able to use it later as a little catch all….which I love, something having function after our big day.
Personalized Ring Bearer Bowl - Paloma's Nest, Etsy

Personalized Ring Bearer Bowl – Paloma’s Nest, Etsy

My big DIY project, at least for the next week or two, involves paper, glue guns, embossing, and printing!  Oh yes, I am wading into the deep end to try and make my own ‘will you be my bridesmaid/reader/greeter’ cards and my wedding invitations.  I feel completely insane to even try to do this…but seriously, the amounts these people want you to pay for these paper projects/invites is out of control.  I refuse to pay over $1000 for just over 100 invitations, that is not ok — especially when that money is much better spent on food, alcohol or photography!


So much of what I am posting below is inspiration and may not be what I actually end up with — but thought I would show you my inspiration so that when I actually get it done, I can post the finished product and you can check it out.


For the ‘Will you be my bridesmaid’ cards…I absolutely LOVE this idea!

DIY Bridesmaid cards, courtesy of ‘Once Wed’



Or how about these super cute cards from Etsy?
 

Will you be my Bridesmaid cards, by Invites by Jen on Etsy

Now onto the daunting task of wedding invitations!  Who knew the market was so freakin’ crazy for these little pocket fold invites.  Thank goodness for the over-abundance of wedding websites, forums and think tanks…women can turn just about anywhere to get help or directions on making their own invites.  Of course, for me I loved the most expensive invites from one of the most expensive shops…Paper Source.  But I found a few templates online, came up with some DIY envelope liners, inexpensive pockets and cardstocks (www.cardsandpockets.com), stamps, embossing kit, ribbon…and cross your fingers, let’s see how it turns out in 2 weeks!

Paper Source – Ampersand Invitations



But would love to work in some sort of starfish, like the Vera Wang invite below…

Vera Wang Starfish Wedding Invitation, from FineStationery.com

 But, really like the idea of embossing the starfish…ala the DIY method that I found at this incredible blog,

DIY Embossing Project, from foodwineandmodpodge.blogspot.com



I know what you are thinking…what in the world is this invitation going to look like…and I have to admit, there is a little part of me that isn’t quite sure what the final product is going to look like either, but at least this will be an adventure!  The biggest thing that has me worried is actually the amount of time it is going to take me to actually print, cut and assemble all of them – that is where the investment of time comes into play, but just think about all that money I am saving… 

Wish me luck — N 

Leave a Reply

