amazing / friends / Heart of Life / John Mayer / music playing in my head / pain

the music playing in my head…

In recent days you may have noticed that I have actually been attempting to keep my blog up to date – shocking, I know! But what I also have been doing is going back through old posts and re-reading them and realizing how far I have come in such a short time. It almost kills me to read my posts from early December, I can feel the pain and despair just weeping from the words.

After reading those posts, it made me go back to an old song that I loved that seems so fitting, especially with the benefit of hindsight – Heart of Life by John Mayer.

Pain throws your heart to the ground
Love turns the whole thing around
No it won’t all go the way it should
But I know the heart of life is good

You know, it’s nothing new
Bad news never had good timing
Then, circle of your friends
Will defend the silver lining


The pain most definitely is not gone, and will probably never be forgotten, but it is softer. It has brought my family & I even closer together, if that was even possible? And I have such appreciation for the gifts I do have and the amazing friends that I am lucky enough to have in my life. That last line completely echoes true for me, as I was completely embraced by our circle of friends, who most certainly defended our silver lining. 
Happy Monday – and much love to you all as you kick off your week! xoxo – nik 
One thought on “the music playing in my head…

  1. You're back to posting…yay! Just wanted to say I'm glad to read your words again and happy to hear that life is looking up. Love you guys! xoxo, Gubs

Leave a Reply

