baby / DIY / nursery

my other labor of love

the family in Sloane’s nursery
captured by our amazing photographer – Jocelyn

Of course my first labor of love is little Sloaney Baloney – but what many of you might not realize is that my second labor of love, her nursery, was also an amazing experience. Never have I put so much thought into a room – design, decor, details. All of it, from the paint color (a saga unto itself) down to what is on the shelves of her bookcase, are thought out details. I found such joy in the experience – dreaming and preparing for my little bit. I wonder if other Mom’s go through this same experience? Of course it wasn’t all smooth sailing, I literally did not buy one thing, not even a stuffed animal, until we were past week 30. I think due to my previous experience with miscarriage, I was just too scared to get too excited about the baby until we were closer to my due date.

Some of you might remember my nursery inspiration post, and it is funny how I picked bits and pieces from all those nurseries and brought something together that was all Sloane.  I think you will be able to see the inspiration in the final result!  
(btw – sorry for the pics, I didn’t spend any time editing them…so they are what they are!)

view from the door to the nursery

view from the other corner of the room

What you might have difficulty seeing is the paint color — it is a very, very pale aqua blue, with a white ceiling. The color is Ship’s Sail by Clark & Kensington, available at Ace Hardware. I would have painted the trim and doors white as well, but since we are renting – that is really not an option. Maybe for her next room.

the chandy – lots of bang for the buck!

Another favorite item in the nursery, and the thing that probably gets the most comments is the chandelier.  I knew I wanted one for the room, but I didn’t want to spend a lot of money, since again, we are only renting.  I found the perfect chandy for the room, understated and petite, yet still a statement for the space – all for under $40!  Here is the link for the chandy from IKEA. Plus it is very easy to install, even I could do it!

ta-da – the crib!

So I knew I wanted an inexpensive crib, since I had heard from many friends that had invested in an expensive crib, especially those that are supposed to transition from baby to toddler to big kid, that they just aren’t worth it. I ended up deciding that I wanted something with a vintage-y feel to it, so I chose the white Jenny Lind style crib, which I got for a steal from Amazon. Bonus? It was also super easy to put together! 

In the same picture above, you can see the cute white flotaki rug that I picked up at my neighborhood Ross store for about $8 – yes! You can also get a glimpse of the adorable polka dot crib sheet that my Mom made for me, from the DIY pattern & instructions from MADE, and the fabric is Spintastic Polka Dots from Fabric.com. The crib skirt is from Carousel Designs, from the touch of aqua collection and matches the aqua in the polka dot fabric perfectly!  I also picked up another crib sheet and skirt (for when one is dirty, or those emergency middle of the night sheet changes) from Land of Nod, Sherbet Collection – they are also very cute!
another view of the rocking crib!

Let’s talk about another favorite — the AMAZING aqua chevron quilt. It was a beautiful gift from my Mom & Sisters for my baby shower. They found it on Etsy, but I can’t find the original seller – this one is very similar.

prints over the crib
Check out the nursery prints above the crib. I designed and printed all of the art in the nursery myself, with the exception of one print. They were inspired by what I had seen in other nurseries and on Etsy – and also took shape from the room itself! The first is gray chevron with a giraffe silhouette in yellow. The second is a quote print “Dream big little one” printed in white on aqua with a heart period in pink. The third print is multi-colored polka dots in the shape of a heart. I found really inexpensive frames that came with mats from Michael’s Crafts.

my rocking horse

Onto another sentimental favorite – the rocking horse in the corner of the room, next to the crib. The rocking horse was made by my Grandpa Saewert, my paternal grandfather and an amazing craftsman. He made many of our toys growing up – from teeter totters to pretend kitchens, really amazing things! My Mom kept this one for me, one of the first things he ever made for me (I was the oldest grandchild), and now I can pass it down to my daughter. I can’t tell you how much I love that!

more nursery prints
This has a couple more nursery prints – the one of the left is from Etsy seller twoems, the one on the right is one that I designed after being inspired by a quote from Pinterest.

cute toy box & corner table

This is another little gem, I was inspired by an awesome wooden album bin on casters from Urban Outfitters – bummer they don’t have it online any more, but they do look very similar. My version is just one of those naked wood boxes from Michael’s (here is one similar from Home Depot) stained and then I put 1/2″ casters on it. The white table is IKEA, and the little white ceramic elephant on the table is from Etsy seller Eshkar.

looking up at the rocking chair corner!

Love this view of the rocking chair corner from the floor! One of the last items I found was the aqua chevron rug from Urban Outfitters, I just love it…it totally completed the room. The other piece that everyone comments on when they come in the nursery is the fuschia & white polka dot pouf that my Mom made for the nursery.  It was inspired by this DIY tutorial (not exact specifications – we made ours a bit larger), with this Ikat Dots fabric from Fabric.com.

rocking chair corner

I spend so much time in this rocking chair corner, I love rocking Sloaney there and reading books with her on my lap in that chair. The rocking chair is from IKEA, not a fancy glider, since again we had heard a lot of stories that the expensive gliders did not get used enough for the cost – and they ended up getting stained/dirty as well. The blanket is Cynthia Rowley and I got it from TJ Maxx, the pillow is patchworked with a little birdie on it, and it is from a little children’s boutique in our little town. The pale aqua print window panels are from Target, available online but not in stores.

cute shelves above the rocking chair!
The shelves are from IKEA, but I bought them in the store, so I am not sure which set of shelves they are online. On the shelves are treasures I collected – a pink sock monkey I already had, a little print I made that says ‘You are my Sunshine’, and a zinc letter ‘S’ from Anthropologie. The bottom shelf has a photo I took of our dog Big Bella, a little stuffed elephant that I already had, and a pair of hot pink converse from my good friend Mimi in Portland! I think these shelves mean so much since I spent so much time deciding what I wanted to have up there…
bookshelf/changing table

Next to the rocking chair is a 4×2 EXPEDIT shelving unit from IKEA, with the addition of CAPITA legs from the kitchen section to add a bit of height. On four of the shelves are some baskets that I found at Fred Meyer, because I wasn’t much of a fan of the IKEA baskets. I just remembered that each shelf is 13×13 and made sure the baskets I purchased would fit. I have a basket with all the necessities for changing diapers, another with bottles/sippy cups, a third with burp cloths and receiving blankets and the last one has teething supplies in it.

on the changing table
On top of the changing table I have a little turquoise lamp that I picked up at TJ Maxx, a round picture frame with silver tiles from Cost Plus World Market and two little white ceramic pieces – a turtle and an owl, both from Ross. On the other end of the table there is a standard changing pad with a super cute turquoise printed cover from Etsy seller NapBaby.  Hanging over the changing table are two photos, one of our pregnancy announcement and the other is a family photo (pre-baby – will be updated soon with a new photo!).  Next to the photos is a cute mirror that I found at the Land of Nod, but I really don’t think it is really baby/nursery – it could work in any room!
on the shelves
On the shelves I have books on one end, and a set of vintage toy blocks that spell LOVE, acting as a bookend on one shelf. On the other end I have some wooden toys and a cute polka-dot bin that I picked up at Target that acts as a catch-all. 
a nursery gem! 

This is my hidden secret – a little fabric wrap for the door that I picked up from Etsy seller LatchyCatchy. It is awesome, you can close the door after putting the baby down for a nap and the door won’t make a sound. Get one, now!

and finally, chalkboard…

Between the door to the nursery and the closet, there was a tiny wall and I was going to hang another print there, but then decided to get a chalkboard for the space instead. The problem? No chalkboard I found would fit the space. So I ended up buying a frame that fit the narrow little slice of wall, sprayed the glass with chalkboard paint and painted the frame a bright pink color to fit with the room.  Voila – Sloane’s chalkboard!  I love that it is the last thing anyone sees when the leave the room…so fitting.  

I hope you enjoyed a peek into Sloane’s nursery – it was fun for me to relive it! If you have any questions, feel free to ask me…I would love to help!

One thought on “my other labor of love

Leave a Reply

