baby / i have never loved someone / love / mom / music monday / music playing in my head / my brightest diamond

{music monday} i have never loved someone

I wanted to get back into posting music on the blog — a’la my ‘Music Playing in my Head’ posts in the past.  So I am kicking off a regular post on Mondays devoted to music. Now let’s just see if I can stick to it!

For this first installment, I wanted to keep up with my Momma/Baby obsession lately…big surprise!  I ran across this song when catching up on the Instagram feed of Kelle Hampton, the extraordinary lady behind one of my favorite blogs – enjoying the small things.  She had the lyrics of this song under a picture of her with her new son and it was like BAM…that is how I feel about Miss Sloaney Baloney and what I would do for her at any given moment.

This version is so haunting, filmed live – in a coffee shop.  The song, almost a lullaby really, is I Have Never Loved Someone by My Brightest Diamond.

I have never loved someone the way I love you
I have never seen a smile like yours
And if you grow up to be king or clown,or pauper
I will say you are my favorite one in town
I have never held a hand so soft and sacred
When I hear you laugh, I know heaven’s key
And when I grow to be a poppy in the graveyard
I will send you all my love upon the breeze
And if the breeze won’t blow your way I will be the sun
And if the sun won’t shine your way I will be the rain
And if the rain won’t wash away all your aches and pains
I will find some other way to tell you you’re okay
You’re okay, you’re okay, you’re okay
You’re okay, you’re okay, you’re okay

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

